Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme started by The Broke and The Bookish.

Discovering new authors is sometimes hard but so worth it.

aladdin

December 8: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors/Books I Read For The First Time In 2015

1) Elena Ferrante – As if you couldn’t have guessed this one…Her writing is so passionate and forceful and yet she manages to do so much with so few words. Incredible. Check out my report on her novel, The Days of Abandonment.

2) Margaret Atwood – I can’t believe it took me so long to read The Handmaid’s Tale. This novel is like, the original dystopian novel, and Atwood builds a world that is terrifying in its accepted “normalcy”. I can’t wait to read more of her.

3) George RR Martin – I’m the last person on this bandwagon but I only started reading the Game of Thrones series this year and they are so good! Huge, epic adventures with tons of characters and plotlines, how Martin is able to keep it all straight is amazing.

4) Diana Gabaldon – Like George RR Martin, her Outlander series has been around forever. The books are a fun adventure with plenty of steamy romance thrown in. Plus the TV series is really great. I can’t wait for season 2!

5) Deborah Harkness – I think I may have started her Discovery of Witches series in 2014 but finished in 2015, so that probably counts. This series was great fun from start to finish. *crosses fingers* Please, please let there be a Gallowglass spin-off series!

6) Lisa Lutz – I read her novel How to Start a Fire this year and absolutely loved it. She has a series of mystery/detective novels that I know I need to read.

7) Sabaa Tahir – I just finished reading An Ember in the Ashes and I can’t wait for the next book in the series!

Who are your favorite new authors or books discovered in 2015?

(Also, side-note, I was under the impression that I read mostly male authors but that doesn’t appear to be the case…Mostly, I’m just a supporter of good stories be they male or female written, but I’m happy to see so many female authors on my list!)

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I read that George RR Martin relies on his fans to help him keep the characters and plot lines straight. And that sometimes fans come up to him and ask him questions and he can’t remember the story to even answer them. Too funny.

    Like

  2. I absolutely loved An Ember in the Ashes, and am so glad you did too! ❤ Can't wait for the sequel. xD And I have heard nothing but glowing things about GRRM, but to be honest I'm a bit scared to start reading his books because I've heard how many character deaths there are. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post + choices! ❤

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by Zoe! I agree, Ember was great. I was a little nervous because YA-dystopia can tend to get redundant but I really enjoyed it. I want Helene to get her own story! Its true, GRRM is pretty brutal in killing off characters but it hasn’t bothered me yet. Honestly there are SO MANY characters that you’ll probably find another to latch on to if your character gets the axe 🙂 That said! I’m only through book 3 so I could be in for major emotional struggles with the next two books. HA!

      Like

Leave a Reply

