Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and The Bookish.

Today’s topic is about quotes and I love a good quote. I used to highlight or underline my favorite quotes in my books but I found that was too easy. Now I dog-ear the page, so that I have to read the page through again to rediscover the quote. Its always a lovely treasure hunt but made for a loooong time writing this post….

November 17:  Top Ten Quotes I Loved From Books I Read In The Past Year Or So

1) Sometimes people are beautiful.
Not in looks.
Not in what they say.
Just in what they are.

– Markus Zusak, I Am The Messenger

2) It’s not a big thing, but I guess its true – big things are often just small things that are noticed.

– Markus Zusak, I Am The Messenger

3) It wasn’t only wickedness and scheming that made people unhappy, it was confusion and misunderstanding;  above all, it was the failure to grasp the simple truth that other people are as real as you.

– Ian McEwan, Atonement

4) My father said she was a strong woman, and I believe a strong woman may be stronger than a man, particularly if she happens to have love in her heart. I guess a loving woman is almost indestructible.

– John Steinbeck, East of Eden

5) Life appears to me too short to be spent in nursing animosity, or registering wrongs.

– Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

6) All my heart is yours, sir: it belongs to you; and with you it would remain, were fate to exile the rest of me from your presence for ever.

– Charlotte Bronte, Jane Eyre

7) As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep; slowly, and then all at once.

– John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

8) It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.

– JK Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

This is totally an incomplete list BUT its a good start. Do we have any of the same favorite quotes?

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Random side note, but I thought I’d just leave one of the funniest quotes of all time here for your viewing pleasure:

    “Let us step into the night and pursue that flighty temptress, adventure.” -Dumbledore

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Book Thief is one of my all-time favorites but I Am The Messenger is a close second to it. It is a very different story and narrative structure than Book Thief but it is just as beautiful. I wish Zusak would write more books! Thanks for stopping by! – Alyson

      Like

Leave a Reply

