Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and The Bookish.

I’m going back to the archives because today’s topic is Book to Movie Adaptations I’m Looking Forward to and my brain is just not picking up on that one. So! Instead, lets do Top Ten Most Intimidating Books as determined by me…

November 10: Top Ten Most Intimidating Books

Photo credit: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CAYQjB1qFQoTCPaLovHrhskCFUhYPgodwbwJsA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmemegenerator.net%2Finstance%2F55144404&psig=AFQjCNHZOy555mWctVstThmNpa8z83pV6w&ust=1447278819654813
Photo credit: www.memegenerator.net

1) Anna Karenina, Leo Tolstoy: You guys, I’ve tried reading this one multiple times and I just always…stop. I get to where Levin goes on and on about his farm and get bored. But I know! I know that this is classic literature at its finest so I need to just power though. Shame on me.

2) East of Eden, John Steinbeck: I was so nervous to start this book cause its really long and also I hated The Grapes of Wrath. But I’m so glad I got over my initial trepidation because it is so good.

3) Ernest Hemingway: Just as a whole works, I’m intimidated by Hemingway. I’ve never read him and I have a feeling that maybe I’m not smart enough to read him.

4) Lolita, Vladimir Nabakov: I feel like Lolita is the book for English majors who take themselves very seriously. I know I need to read it but, it scares me.

5) Poetry: Whitman, Dickinson, Rilke – I own collections by each of these peeps, and probably a few more, but poetry is always intimidating to me. I never feel like I’m really grasping what the writer was trying to convey.

6) James Joyce: Never in my life have I read Joyce. I know that Ulysses, Dubliners, Finnegan’s Wake all changed the literary world forever but I honestly have no idea what or why because they are scary. Also, I suspect I would find them boring….Blasphemy, I’m sure.

7) Infinite Jest, David Foster Wallace – It’s like a million pages! (Although, I thoroughly enjoyed his essay, A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again; whip-smart and so funny.)

That’s all I can think of for now. Which authors/genres do you find intimidating?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Classic literature is scary for me, so every book/author on this list seems intimidating to me! I tried Anna Karenina once and gave up about ten pages in haha. I don’t think I’m even going to go near the other authors on your list. Not in the near future anyway!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

