Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and The Bookish.

This week’s topic is…

September 1: 10 Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

54496869

– Winger, Winger – I feel like I’m the only person that did not like this book, but yall, I did not like this book. In large part due to the main character, Winger. He is so self-absorbed and contradictory that I just could not with this kid. I think YA fiction written from the POV of a teenage male is important because weirdly there isn’t that much of it, or so it seems, I just wish this particular teenage male wasn’t so cliche.

– June Elbus, Tell The Wolves I’m Home – I wanted to love this book but I just, didn’t. I thought that June was a very well-drawn teenager and that she was very real in her insecurities and loves, and the way she deals with the death of a loved one. I just did not click with her relationship with her Uncle. I get that he is more of a best friend to her, but I can’t with romantic feelings for family members, no matter how innocent they may be.

– Florentino Ariza, Love In The Time of Cholera – This book is a modern classic and I thoroughly enjoyed it but I just have to shake my head lovingly at Florentino Ariza. He pines and pines for the love of his life – while also sleeping with as many women as possible. Which kind of makes me doubt his devotion…. Great story though, yall!

– Edward and Bella, Twilight Series – Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a Twilight hater. When I read these in college I LOVED them and I would read them again even now. Its a fun story! I just thought that Bella was really annoying and that Edward tended too far to stalker territory… (I was and am totally Team Jacob but that doesn’t really sway my thinking. I always thought he deserved someone better than Bella anyways. I just didn’t anticipate it being a newborn baby……..Oh Stephanie Meyer….)

– Emma Bovary, Madame Bovary – You guys know I love the Classics. Madame Bovary is the eminent French novel and Gustave Flaubert changed fiction-writing forever with his extreme attention to detail and realism. But Emma Bovary. Ugh, she is terrible. And I understand that she has to be, that her actions and personality are the point of the story but aye aye aye, I just wanted to shake her and tell her to GET A GRIP. (You should read Kathryn Harrison’s review of Madame Bovary, Desperate Housewife, in The New York Times Review. It is seriously great.)

I know that there are more characters that I didn’t like but these are all I can think of currently. Which characters did you not get along with?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Amy and Nick Dunne from Gone Girl! Ugh, I know everyone LOVES this book and I agree it was a great mystery, but I loathed the characters so much that I couldn’t wait for the book to be over!

    PS. love that you are doing this! You definitely have a new follower 🙂 miss you!

    Like

      1. No I hadn’t read those yet. After Gone Girl I decided I needed to read some happy books while I was pregnant so I could pass only good vibes along lol. Now I can get back into some serious reading 😉 Which of those would you recommend first?

        Like

      2. Haha! That was a great idea actually; that’s what makes you such a wonderful mom! So, both Sharp Objects and Dark Places are very creepy. Like, I couldn’t read either of them at night… I think Sharp Objects is creepier in the sense that there is less plot resolution. But Dark Places is only resolved at the very end, so I was scared pretty much the whole time reading it… So. Yeah, either is good if you’re ready for something scary suspense 🙂 For more lighthearted options, see reviews for Fangirl and How To Start A Fire 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

