Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and The Bookish.

I’m going to go ahead and use today’s TTT as a continuation of last week’s list. After writing the list, I went home and looked at my 2015 Reading List and realized I forgot so many great books. So, part two, here we go –

July 7: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015 (Part 2)

1) Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins: I’m sure everyone has read this by now but if you haven’t and you love mysteries, get on it. It was marketed as “this year’s Gone Girl” which is high praise. And in my opinion, it lived up to it; I actually liked it better than Gone Girl.

2) The Magician’s Land, Lev Grossman: The series finale in The Magicians trilogy does not disappoint. The Magicians series is marketed as a “If Harry Potter Went to College” kind of thing. Really good fantasy story, kind of Potter-ish, kind of Narnia-ish but very grown up.

3) In Cold Blood, Truman Capote: Yall, In Cold Blood is the ORIGINAL Serial. I just read In Cold Blood this year for the first time and I just could not put it down. It is a true-crime that reads like fiction – Capote is so great. If you were hooked on NPR’s Serial, give In Cold Blood a try, it should tide you over until season 2.

4) A God In Ruins, Kate Atkinson: If you haven’t read Kate Atkinson, you need to. A God In Ruins is the companion novel to her book from a couple of years ago, Life After Life. Both books tell the story of one family through and beyond the Second Wold War, from different points of view. Truly beautiful writing and just all around superb literary fiction.

5) Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein: I put off reading this one for awhile cause I just couldn’t wrap my head around how a Young-Adult, WWII drama would work out. But I’m so glad I read it. It’s the story of 2 girls who are best friends during the war and follows their friendship and both of their war efforts. Its great and when you figure out the twist, eeek! Its heartbreaking in the best way.


(From 6/30)

2) The Storied Life of AJ Fikry, Gabrielle Zevin: This book, yall. It is so lovely. The story of a bookstore owner in a small town who receives a package one night that changes his life. To say anything else would ruin the beauty of the story. Just read it.

3) Special Topics in Calamity Physics, Marisha Pessl: This book was super-hyped when it came out in 2010 as the author was only 27 years old at the time, and was paid a hefty advance for a debut novel. (Ms. Pessl is also really beautiful which shouldn’t have worked against her but apparently did, because patriarchy, misogyny, ya know.)  A lot of people didn’t like it for just that reason but I really enjoyed this novel. It was funny and smart and a little precocious at times. It’s a challenging and fun read.

4) The Bone Season, Samantha Shannon: As I was reading The Bone Season I wasn’t entirely sure how I felt about it. It is a dystopian novel but much more supernatural than I had anticipated, which isn’t a bad thing, but just took a bit of mind-adjustment while reading. This story is action-packed, suspenseful and does a fantastic job of creating a realistic world.

5) Attachments, Rainbow Rowell: This was my second (or third maybe) time to read Attachments, so yeah, I love this book. Rowell is a master at crafting super realistic characters. I feel like the characters in the novel are my real-life friends. If you enjoy John Green novels, you’ll love Rainbow Rowell.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I haven’t read any of these titles either! I really want to read Attachments and The Bone Seaskn! I have both and haven’t gotten to them yet:)

    Like

    1. Hey McRae! You should definitely give them a shot. They are super different from one another, Attachments and The Bones Season, but both are great stories. Let me know if you love the main characters in Attachments as much I do after you’re finished 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

      Like

    1. Hey Joey – umm, how did I not know that The Magicians was being made into a TV show?! That is awesome. I googled it and the show isn’t coming out until 2016 so you definitely have time to read the books 🙂 I’m so glad you liked Fikry! Its one of those books where whenever I even think of it, it just makes me happy. Thanks for stopping by and sharing! – Alyson

      Like

      1. Definitely! I only went into Fikry with “oh, this is a book about…books” and bam explosion of feels.

        And haha I’d love to read it but a series commitment–yikes! The small portion of the community who has read The Magicians blew up when the trailer was released. I wouldn’t have known otherwise either!

        Like

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday |

Leave a Reply

