Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme that was started by The Broke and The Bookish.

I actually discovered this super fun list-ical from the good ladies over at The Book Wars whom you should definitely follow. I feel like we’re friends and they don’t even know me…

ANYHOW.

June 30: Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2015

Just in the order that they popped into my head…

1) East of Eden, John Steinbeck: I hated Grapes of Wrath, which I know is like totally blasphemous in terms of literary fiction but there you have it, so I held out a long time on reading East of Eden. Which was a mistake. East of Eden is an epic, brilliant story about family, love, hatred, good and evil.

2) The Storied Life of AJ Fikry, Gabrielle Zevin: This book, yall. It is so lovely. The story of a bookstore owner in a small town who receives a package one night that changes his life. To say anything else would ruin the beauty of the story. Just read it.

3) Special Topics in Calamity Physics, Marisha Pessl: This book was super-hyped when it came out in 2010 as the author was only 27 years old at the time, and was paid a hefty advance for a debut novel. (Ms. Pessl is also really beautiful which shouldn’t have worked against her but apparently did, because patriarchy, misogyny, ya know.)  A lot of people didn’t like it for just that reason but I really enjoyed this novel. It was funny and smart and a little precocious at times. It’s a challenging and fun read.

4) The Bone Season, Samantha Shannon: As I was reading The Bone Season I wasn’t entirely sure how I felt about it. It is a dystopian novel but much more supernatural than I had anticipated, which isn’t a bad thing, but just took a bit of mind-adjustment while reading. This story is action-packed, suspenseful and does a fantastic job of creating a realistic world.

5) Attachments, Rainbow Rowell: This was my second (or third maybe) time to read Attachments, so yeah, I love this book. Rowell is a master at crafting super realistic characters. I feel like the characters in the novel are my real-life friends. If you enjoy John Green novels, you’ll love Rainbow Rowell.

So I guess we’ll call this version Top 5 Tuesday but this should do for now…

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    1. Thanks for taking the time to comment, Lauren! I’m new to this whole blogging thing – it is so cool to know that someone is reading 🙂 I haven’t gotten Night Film yet but I definitely will.

      Like

    1. Hey Sue! You will LOVE Attachments. I’m actually starting Fangirl today – I know that’ll be on my Top Ten list just as soon as I’m done. Definitely check out Bone Season as well, its the first in a series and I’m just itching to get the second one. Thanks for sharing!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

