Harry, Jane and John.

I’m Alyson, so who the heck are Harry, Jane and John?

Yall, naming a blog is tough. Everything clever is already taken – and trying to come up with something clever is a job in itself. I maxed out at like, 3 clever name attempts, so it was easy to give up on that.

So then I got to thinking. Books. Duh, that is what this is all about. You may be familiar with Harry Potter? Perhaps you’ve heard of Jane Austen? And we all know John Green, right?

Harry Potter, obviously, a great character – and JK is a serious genius. I can’t remember a time when I didn’t like books but the Harry Potter series solidified me as a reader and participant in a community. Jane is my shout-out to Jane Austen, of course, but also to Charlotte Bronte’s incredible Jane Eyre. Both Janes are smart, headstrong, uncompromising. I adore them both. John Green! I LOVE Young Adult fiction. There is so much in young adult fiction that is funny, sad, beautiful, warm, indelible and I think that John Green is the best of all of those qualifiers.

So, Harry, Jane and John. Great Characters. Great Writers. Beloved Books.

Leave a Reply

